2021, the Journey...

2021, the Journey...

Hey there, seeing so many EOY reviews has motivated me to get mine out. Before talking about the year I have to talk about my visions for the year, last year I had a reawakening where I experienced some eureka for how I'd want my tech career to progress, this let me set goals that I thought were huge but achievable, I hit some😀😀. Before starting I'd like to send my appreciation to Oma(who gave me good advice and is a brilliant mentor), Codefarmer(our discussions on flutter really helped me improve), Kromate(for being a great friend), Zeus(for being a rock of support) and also LordGhostX(He was the first to tell me to ditch native android for flutter). Now, let's go into the review...

January

Dropped native android for flutter after joining the jetpack compose alpha testers and seeing they were pretty similar, compose at that time was just for one platform(why go for one, when you can go for all🤩🤩). Met a pretty amazing guy that helped me with crypto(Hey Goodness).

February

Joined the Sidehustle 2.0 internship to flutter to kickstart my flutter journey, before this I had only written dart once. I got a gig where I helped a student with assignments and programming lessons(this went for about the whole month, made my first 5 figures in Naira) and I got some gadgets with the returns.

March

I finished the Sidehustle internship and learning about flutter got me really ecstatic. Flutter engage happened this month and flutter 2.0 was released(I joined the flutter ecosystem at the best time possible) and I was one of the lucky recipients of Andrea Bizzoto's firebase course giveaway which got me started with building product ready flutter apps.

April

Was pretty uneventful, spent most of this month going through the course(unfortunately I'm not done with it but God I've improved). I started applying to jobs and internships this month and I got a job to teach kids to code for about a week(this happened in August)

May

School resumed ending of April and into May. At the start of this month, I was faced with a fear(seeing my mates doing stuff and I'm yet to pick up the pace). I promised myself I was going to get myself a new device of my own choosing as a birthday gift to myself but my birthday was barely a month away and I had no cash of my own(I was really scared, I was turning 19 and couldn't even make money😔😔). Fast forward to the last days of the month and my roommate then who's also a freelancer Pelumi, invited me to join him on a gig, it was to build a Twitter bot which I was already conversant with so I picked it up and also because I was broke.

June

Working on the backend side of the gig I had to use a language I'm not so happy writing(Javascript) but hey it got me the money right. Well... I got myself a Poco X3 pro for my birthday brand new(it was a really big win for me). Also joined and got to the finals of the Zuri internship⭐⭐

July

Got to the second stage of the bending spoons software engineering internship before getting a rejection letter(I was already envisioning myself on their campus😔), I tried to be a student for most of this month so sapa choked, I was very much broke.

August

Got the Unilag Consult gig where I taught kids mobile development with flutter, we built a basic weather app, it was great to teach kids. Stressful, yes... enjoyable, also yes. All this time I've been getting numerous rejection letters from different jobs(a lot of them didn't reply). My Poco x3 pro was also stolen😔. Got into the HNG i8 internship, dropped out at stage 5, I found it overly competitive and I had exams.

September

I tried to trade crypto properly again(I dropped it a bit when I got really busy) and I made some decent trades but was always breaking even, didn't really keep the profit for long(greed can be a terrible thing). This month was also the month I got a gig from a friend, we worked on an app together, I was mostly integrating the APIs.

October

A very good friend of mine(Kromate, my oga) referred me for a job at the startup he works and I got it(finally stable income). I got the job and was three weeks into the job before I got an offer from Sterling bank Plc, well I couldn't say no to that and I quitted my old Job after completing the month. Also got me a new phone, a Xiaomi RN 9s(I'm one of Xiaomi biggest fans, ask my friends).

November

Got into Sterling. Upgraded my PC with the salary I go from my old job. Finished the Ray Wenderlich Flutter apprentice book. Finished two other flutter books and got the premonition to go into a server-side dart. I also got my mum a birthday gift.

December

Started working on my first project at Sterling. Got me gadgets I actually wanted and I fulfilled the promises I made to my lovely aunt and other friends.

The uneventful parts of the year were the most troubling, lots of things happened that could have damaged my morale(I was thinking of dropping flutter and picking react native at some point😅😅) but I'm glad I had Zeus, Kromate and the rest of the Q-Devs community(you guys have been a massive blessing).

The biggest win for me this year is that I went from 0 digits to 7 digits in naira all in a year where I made more than half in the final two months of the year🚀🚀🚀

Funny story though, I lost more from Binance. I discovered this when I saw my Binance year in review(don't trade crypto kids).

Ended the year on a beautiful note, might have just found love who knows. Looking forward to next year and I'm in bubbling spirits😃😃😃

WhatsApp Image 2021-12-31 at 04.17.48.jpeg